top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTrish Ahjel Roberts

The Overnight Bag

Last night I couldn’t sleep. I ended up submitting a grant application and looked up to see it was 2:22am. I love seeing repeating numbers. If you follow the law of attraction or numerology, you have probably heard repeaters have significance. My daughter was born at 4:44am, and I see repeating 1’s, 2’s and 4’s frequently. I find they encourage me to keep pressing forward in the pursuit of my dreams. When I studied yoga nidra in the spring, my instructor said the numbers mean only what we want them to mean. That may very well be true for all of life. We apply meaning to the things in our lives, and we all need encouragement.

This past week was rough. My dad’s been critically ill for over a year now, and my uncle (his younger brother) was buried on Saturday. I woke up last weekend and discovered the maintenance worker had let himself into my apartment while I was sleeping. Who the fuck does that?! I complained to my management company and haven't received even a simple apology. My daughter is about to head back to her pandemic-ready college campus in a few days. I just had my dog’s teeth cleaned only to see tartar right back to 100% icky in only three months. I haven’t sold a million copies of my self-help memoir yet – I’m not even close. I lost five pounds and gained it back. I booked a flight to NYC to see my father only to cancel two days later when I realized New York State has a 14-day mandatory quarantine on travelers from Georgia. I miss eating in my favorite restaurants and going to the movies. I have a cavity in my front tooth to the tune of $600 even with my dental coverage. Listen, I’ve been in my feelings. :-/

Then yesterday happened.

So many times when life is feeling difficult, I remind myself that it can change on a dime. In a split second. On the fringe of a moment. With one phone call. One big idea. One email. One shift in perspective. One word of encouragement. One smile.

I’m convinced my brain has an elaborate circuit-breaker. I believe all healthy brains do. When presented with stress we implement our learned coping mechanisms: perhaps rest, sex, food or exercise. We all experience stress at times. We should be prepared for when it arrives and settles next to us with an overnight bag. Here are a few of my favorite stress-busters:

1. Reality-TV – Don’t judge me, but marathon-watching other people’s problems gives my own issues time to settle. Some of my favorites are Paternity Court, Judge Faith and my current obsession: 90-Day Fiancée.

2. Sleeping – I’m already a girl who likes eight hours, but a mid-day nap when I’m stressed out gives my body a break from mental shenanigans like catastrophizing and never-ending “what if” scenarios.

3. Indulgence – I treat myself to things I like without guilt. I got a 2-hour massage. So what? I upgraded from my regular mani/pedi. Mind your business! I bought myself flowers. Why wouldn't I? I ate a pack of the original Beyond Meat sausages in artisan rolls. God yes! (They ruined the spicy version by trying to make it “meatier.”)

4. Consistent Self-Care – I think everyone should have a self-care routine. Mine includes yoga, journaling, meditation, hiking, affirmations, music, books and running. Doing things I enjoy and being outside are important for my overall feeling of wellness. Take the time to find out what works for you.

My journey has been a winding road. I know I’m not alone. Be kind to yourself in words and actions. We teach other people how to treat us by the way we treat ourselves. We all hit rough patches. Life was not always easy before COVID-19. Finding ways to work through challenges and usher your overnight guest to the door can make all the difference in the world.


I wish you Freedom, Alignment and Effortless Abundance!


Trish

P.S. The photo is of the honey-colored roses I bought to lift my spirits. That was before I put on my happy pants. Lol! If you haven't seen my happy pants, follow me at https://instagram.com/vegan_honeybutterflyz for all kinds of inspirational and vegan goodies. If you’re curious about repeating numbers, check out this article https://www.thelawofattraction.com/means-see-repeating-numbers/ If you’re interested in establishing a consistent self-care practice, join me for my Black Vegan Life™ Fall Retreat Series. https://honeybutterflyz.com/events If you’re outside of the Atlanta area, you can still participate in my Black Vegan Life™ Virtual Retreat on September 26, 2020. https://honeybutterflyz.com/virtual-retreat. If retreats are not your thing, my self-help memoir, Thinking Outside the Chrysalis: A Black Woman’s Guide to Spreading Her Wings offers wonderful advice for establishing a self-care practice. Get more information at https://honeybutterflyz.com/books


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page