top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTrish Ahjel Roberts

The Devil's Dance

I’ve built a business based on the ideals of wellness and transformation. I did this knowing that, generally speaking, people are uncomfortable with change. Today I’m thinking about the upcoming election and the need for change juxtaposed against the comfort of status quo. One of my long-time friends said to me, “If you know the devil you’re dealing with you can dance.” So true. But at what point do we venture out to the unknown, recognizing the potential for the devil we don’t know and the possible brimstone and fury? When is revolution worth the risk?


When I flew to Costa Rica a couple of weeks ago, I was on my way to a country I’d never visited to meet a group of strangers. There was trepidation but also excitement. I often tell my daughter that the feeling of fear in the pit of your stomach should be embraced. It means that you’re doing something new. You will never have that feeling sitting at home watching Netflix. It’s the feeling you get when you walk into unexplored territory: public speaking, stage performance, meeting different people, doing new things or going to foreign places. The documentary film "Happy," asserts that doing new things is part of what gives people a sense of joy. Fear and trepidation often turn into euphoria and accomplishment. Consistently choosing the illusion of safety may lead to missed opportunities and the tragedy of regret.


In the upcoming democratic primaries there seems to be a fight between the comfort of status quo and the hope of real change with its inherent potential for failure. Recently a friend suggested that if enslaved revolutionaries knew that their attempt at revolt would end in their own death, they would alter their plans. I don’t believe that to be true. I think each of us has something or someone we’re willing to die for. If we don’t, I think we should.


Harriet Tubman was willing to die for freedom. Ghandi gave his life for independence. Malcolm X succumbed to his quest for dignity. MLK lost his life for civil rights. Some of the world’s greatest leaders were just that because they put the importance of an ideal – freedom, humanity, equality, etc. before their own lives. Understandably, most people are not willing to do that. However, we might have a child, parent, pet or other loved one that we would sacrifice our lives for. We might be part of a vision or nation who’s dream is so important, we would protect it with our lives.


When Barack Obama won the presidency I never thought he would survive office. There was so much hate. The powers that benefit from the status quo were able to rile up the insecurity of the masses, spewing hatred and fear against every class of person that wasn't a natural-born, heterosexual, cisgender white male. I didn’t think the secret service would be able to protect him. Now I worry about Bernie Sanders. Here is a man who has been fighting for civil rights for his entire life. His campaign is based on equality and human rights and he is vilified as unrealistic and crazy. Is it crazy to proactively work for progress or is it crazy to complain about the status quo while fearing any movement toward change? Perhaps our greatest visionaries are always deemed unrealistic, ideological and insane.


Any time you take a leap into uncharted waters there will be fear. The question then becomes, is a new direction worth fighting for? Is the fear an opening to euphoria and accomplishment? Will taking the path of comfort lead us to regret? Are we willing to cha-cha with the devil?


I support Bernie Sanders’ candidacy. Just like when I supported Barack Obama, I will send him money. I will make calls for him. I will put stickers on my car and I will talk about it publicly. Whoever you choose as your candidate, I encourage you to vote. There is no guarantee that we will always have this right.


I wish you all Freedom, Alignment and Effortless Abundance!



Trish


P.S. I love the attached photo. I took it on my last morning in Costa Rica. When I decided to quit my job to work for myself I had to determine what I was willing to sacrifice. I decided to lay it all on the line. This photo represents writing and freedom for me. If you want to support or learn more about Bernie Sanders, check out his website at https://berniesanders.com. If you are looking for an opportunity to get still and figure out what you’re most passionate about, check out my upcoming “Courage to Dream” mini-retreat on March 7. Details at honeybutterflyz.com/about




0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page