top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTrish Ahjel Roberts

Recipe for Awakenings

It occurred to me today that the upcoming new year is not only a new decade but also a repeater. The last repeaters would have been 1818 and 1919, and by the time 2121 rolls around no one reading this will be here. Not only is it a repeater, 2020 has a colloquial definition from its roots in ophthalmology – it represents perfect vision.


You may not believe in numerology, astrology, crystal healing or climate change, but you probably believe in some things you can’t see or understand, whether its god, spirits, atoms or viruses. In numerology it’s considered a message from the universe when you see repeating numbers. I’ve noticed repeating 1’s for the past couple of years without giving it any thought. I only learned recently that repeating 1’s, particularly 11:11 is considered an indication that the Law of Attraction is working in your life. Simply put, the Law of Attraction is the idea that what you focus on will manifest in your life.


So, how do you control what you focus on when most of us are busy going from work to errands to home? This is where meditation, affirmations, vision boards and visualization come into play. If we focus on negativity, we will draw negativity into our lives. By channeling our focus purposefully to positive intentions, we can manifest the things we desire. This doesn’t mean if you blink your eyes like a genie you will instantly become rich and famous. However, whether you believe in the “Law of Attraction” or not, with time and patience we all become the result of our mental and physical focus. That is indisputable.


According to numerologists, the number 2020 is significant for relationships and harmony because of the duality of repeating 2’s. It also indicates infinite potential because of the repeating 0’s. A new decade, with a touch of perfect vision, spiced with infinite potential and a side of harmony sounds like a recipe for profound awakenings.


Anyone who knows me knows New Year’s and my birthday are my favorite holidays. Like the transformation or “rebirth” of the caterpillar turned butterfly, New Year’s is a time to reflect on the past year’s lessons and prepare for the next year’s growth. My birthday serves as my personal new year, so I go through the same process of evaluation and intention-setting.

However you process the movements of the universe, both seen and unseen, I encourage you to reflect on the emergence of this new decade with perfect vision. Set aside time to focus on your own vision for 2020. That could be by seeing a therapist, finding a spiritual guide, working with a life coach, attending a retreat, creating a vision board or participating in yoga and meditation classes. If money is tight, there are plenty of free and reasonably priced options. 


I’m working on my own vision board in preparation for the Electronic Vision Boarding Luncheon that I’m hosting on January 11. (See those numbers? 1-11!) My vision board has my favorite Toni Morrison quote, “You are your own best thing.”


Remember YOU are YOUR own BEST thing. If you don’t take time for yourself, no one else will make you a priority. If you don’t love yourself, no one else will know how to love you well.


Make space for your own self-care.


Set positive intentions.


Open your heart to harmony and infinite potential.


Get ready for the shift.



I wish you all Freedom, Alignment and Effortless Abundance!



Trish


P.S. The photo is of Chef Beee and me after my first time as a guest on her cooking show. I made Sweet Potato Pie Juice and Black Vegan Life Kale Salad. We  had a great time! Two literal recipes for awakenings! :-) Here's the link so you can check it out: https://youtu.be/avpBSDlmiI4 This image is also from the last weekend in my home of the past twelve years. Let the transformation continue!


17 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page